This is the second year the National Science Education Leadership Association (NSELA) and Vernier Software & Technology have co-sponsored the Vernier Emerging Science Education Leader Scholarship (VESELS). This partnership grants a $500 scholarship to six emerging science leaders to attend the annual NSELA Summer Leadership Institute (SLI). This year, the SLI was held in Philadelphia in July.

The scholarship program was specifically designed to recognize emerging leaders at the school, district, state or informal level who have been in their role for three years or less. Applicants submitted a resume or vita, a support letter from a supervisor, and a personal letter illustrating evidence of their own emerging leadership.

In addition to the scholarship, awardees get the opportunity to work with an NSELA mentor to help them apply what they learned during the institute to their classroom.

This year’s winners are:

  • Alyssa Mocharnuk, Science Department Head at Foxborough Public Schools in Foxborough, MA
  • Amy Hochschild, 6th Grade Science Teacher at Berkshire Local Schools in Burton, OH
  • Brianna Greco, Science & ESL Teacher at Omaha Public Schools in Omaha, NE
  • Jennifer Gibson, 5th Grade Science Teacher at Midway Independent School District in Waco, TX
  • Katrina Reno, Instruction Coach at Moss Point School District in Moss Point, MS
  • Dylann Pinkman, Middle School Science Liaison and Teacher at Lincoln Public Schools in Lincoln, NE

Congratulations, everyone!