Webinars

With so many educators teaching remotely this school year, we want to offer you webinars that gives you new ideas for bringing data collection to your students. Our experienced educational technology specialists will walk you through experiments that students can do from home using our free sample data.

The Half-Atwood Machine: Addressing Student Misconceptions in Applying Newton’s 2nd Law

There are several aspects of the half-Atwood experiment that can expose errors in student application of physics concepts. We will discuss these issues and identify several approaches to providing student investigations to help them build confidence and clarity with this system. 

Some topics include: 

  1. What is the system?
  2. What mass is accelerating: the cart, or the hanging mass, both?
  3. Is the tension in the string equal to the force of gravity on the hanging mass?

Share your own approaches to helping students grapple with these concepts.

Experiment: Atwood’s Machine

October 13 | 2:00 p.m.–2:45 p.m. (Pacific) | 5:00 p.m.–5:45 p.m. (Eastern)

Illuminate Spectroscopy

Demystify the black box of a spectrometer with this series of investigations that explore absorbance, %transmittance, and the electromagnetic spectrum. We’ll be engaging students by using almost every tool at our disposal, including the color wheel, lasers, spectrometers, and our naked eye.

October 20 from 1:00 p.m.–2:00 p.m. (Pacific) | 4:00 p.m.–5:00 p.m. (Eastern)

Exploring the Science of Acid Rain

What exactly is acid rain? How is acid rain formed, and why are some bodies of water more vulnerable to it? This experiment will help your students answer these important questions—and more—using wireless Go Direct® pH Sensors or our traditional pH Sensors. Join Colleen McDaniel, our biology and environmental science educational technology specialist, for an exploration of teaching the science of acid rain.

Experiment: Acid Rain 

October 27 from 1:00–2:00 p.m. (Pacific) | 4:00–5:00 p.m. (Eastern)

Impulse and Momentum with Guided Inquiry

Using investigation 6, Impulse and Momentum, from Physics Explorations and Projects, we’ll look at ways to quantify impulse using sensors and software, and examine different results students may obtain. We’ll also share data to participants using Graphical Analysis Pro. 

Experiment: Impulse and Momentum

November 2 from 1:00-1:45 p.m. (Pacific) | 4:00-4:45 p.m. (Eastern)

Ionic and Covalent Bonds: What's the difference?

Help your students conceptualize chemical formulas using conductivity to differentiate ionic and covalent bonding in various substances. Join us for this new twist on the Chemistry with Vernier experiment, Properties of Solutions: Electrolytes and Nonelectrolytes (Chemistry with Vernier, Experiment 13).

Experiment: Properties of Solutions: Electrolytes and Nonelectrolytes

November 8 from 12:00 p.m.–1:00 p.m. (Pacific) | 3:00 p.m.–4:00 p.m. (Eastern)

Shedding Light on Ocean Acidification

Increasing levels of carbon dioxide have not just contributed to climate change—they’re also responsible for ocean acidification. In this experiment, students will explore the science behind this destructive phenomenon by using a Go Direct® pH Sensor and Vernier Graphical Analysis™ to measure changes in pH and study the effect of dissolved CO2 on the pH of water. Join Colleen McDaniel, our biology and environmental science educational technology specialist, to learn more about ocean acidification and the effects it has on the ecosystem.

Experiment: Acidification of Water by CO2

Nov 23 from 12:00–1:00 p.m. (Pacific) | 3:00–4:00 p.m. (Eastern)

Past Webinars

Watch our webinar recordings if you missed the live sessions or need to review what you learned.

Get Personalized Training

If you have a specific topic you want, please request a personalized online training session with our experts.

Questions? Contact Us.